RSS

Norman Howitt, JRW Group – Images of fraud reveal corruption & deceit by lawyers & accountants in the Scottish Borders

05 Oct

It’s always good to put a face to a crook – as an old retired Policeman friend of mine says … and to be sure, a ‘big wheel’ in the Roxburghshire Bar Association has obliged, by sending me a picture of the infamous Norman Howitt – the accountant who was executor of my late father’s estate, and not content with ruining that, he decided to steal my mothers money too.

Norman Howitt, Chartered Accountant, JRW Group Galashiels :

Norman Howitt Welch & Co Accountants Hawuck & Galashiels

To my surprise, a well known Borders lawyer has broken ranks and sent me a big fat file on Norman Howitt and his firm, Welch & Co, Accountants – where there seem to have been a few problems with clients swept under the carpet .. in true tradition Howitt style.

In fact, Howitt seems to have a few sidelines as well as his main business as an Accountant, all the worse for the poor people of the Borders sadly … where rip off after rip off is the norm. I certainly wouldn’t be trusting a man who stole a pensioner’s state pension book, bank book & tried to take the rest of her assets, not to mention causing the occasional client to go bankrupt …. and I will show you some of what I mean the following images of fraud, deception and greed …

You can see why I don’t care much for Norman Howitt in this next picture, which is of my mum’s pension book, which Norman Howitt stole for himself.

Mrs Cherbi pension book confiscated by Norman Howitt

Bit odd that one, isn’t it ? An accountant, stealing an old age pensioner’s state income book ? garnishing it for his own custody ? How many accountants keep clients pension books for themselves – and who at the Benefits Agency handed over the pension book in the first place ?

What, pray tell, could Howitt’s defence be on that one ? Something like perhaps ” Oh, m’lord, I desperately needed an elderly woman’s pension book to keep by my bedside …”

Bit sick, isn’t it ? .. and even worse … some bent official at the Benefits Agency in Galashiels gave Mr Howitt my mum’s pension book – no strings attached ! .. then covered up the whole thing when enquiries were made as to what happened to it. Could it be a few palms were greased by Mr Howitt on this one ?

No wonder the lawyer who sent me a batch of files on Mr Howitt’s antics for other poor clients, says Howitt is now known to some as “Pension Book Howitt” .. after what he did to my mum. Do you know any accountants, or indeed, other ‘so-called’ professionals such as lawyers & the like, who confiscate their clients pension books ? Answers in the comments section please.

Norman Howitt’s greed didn’t stop there though .. oh no … it got much worse .. just look at these next images of a bank book belonging to my mother … where, again, Norman Howitt confiscated the Bank book for himself (after setting up the account in the first place) and it was then systematically drained over a few weeks, until my very tearful & upset mum broke down in the house and told me she was being robbed blind by Howitt and a long lost relative, Susan Begley, who was about to go bankrupt & saw my mum as an easy target to con 15,000 plus as much more as she could get – all with the blessing of Norman Howitt.

Bank Book Mrs Cherbi Page 1Bank Book Mrs Cherbi Page 2Bank Book Mrs Cherbi Page 3

It gets worse of course – much worse. Not content with taking my mum’s pension book and bank accounts, Norman Howitt decided to take everything she had, and create a secret trust which he would manage himself, and of course, force my mum to pay him for doing so, all done in collaboration with my mother’s crooked lawyer Nigel Hall of Haddon & Turnbull Solicitors, Hawick. Here are copies of the secret trust documents which were drawn up by Norman Howitt to keep control of my mum’s money for himself …. :

Trust document coverTrust document page 1Trust document page 2

You might be wondering how on earth Norman Howitt was able to do all this, and how my mum appointed him to represent her affairs. Well, as you can see from this next letter, which my mum told me she had to write out from a typed letter which was put in front of her to copy, she was forced by her niece, one Mrs Susan Begley, of Charlesfield, StBoswells, Scottish Borders, & Norman Howitt to write and sign the letter – without a witness or consultation with anyone, appointing Howitt and Welch & Co Accountants – Norman Howitt’s company, as her agents. The most important condition of this signing, was, that the whole thing was to be kept secret from me !

dictated letter Mrs Cherbi was forced to sign authorising Norman Howitt as her agent 1991

Now, one might think that’s a bit strange, my mum appointing Norman Howitt as her agent .. because Norman Howitt was executor of the estate of my father, who my mum had obtained a divorce from in 1989 .. so how could the executor of my late father’s estate also represent my mother, who had a claim on my father’s estate ? … bit of a conflict of interest there one might say ? .. well .. yes .. but as you can see, going back to the terms of the secret trust deed which Norman Howitt set up for his own control – he was obviously hell bent on keeping every single penny of my late father’s estate for himself – not allowing me, my mum or anyone to have a claim or secure any inheritance on it .. and my mum was simply used as an excuse to obtain full control over the money & estate for his own ends .. along with of course, the ends of crooked lawyer Andrew Penman, who knew every detail about this extensive con for some time … We now come to a letter which Norman Howitt, Susan Begley, and my mother’s lawyer, Nigel Hall, who saw a great benefit to himself in what Norman Howitt & Begley were proposing, forced my mum to sign, again without consultation to anyone else, and under tight condition of secrecy, instructing that any money my mum receive, be given direct to her con artist relative, Susan Begley.

dictated letter  Mrs Cherbi was forced to sign, sending 15,000 via Norman Howitt to Susan Begley  account 1990

Now, there’s a problem with this letter as you can see – a fairly major problem … THE DATE. If you co back to the handwritten letter my mum was forced to sign appointing Norman Howitt and Welchs Accountants as her agents .. you will see the date on that letter is 30.10.1991 but the typed letter which requires that my mums money be given direct to her con artist niece, Susan Begley (a close friend of Norman Howitt by now) .. has a date of “April 1990” which would make that 17 months earlier. It seems the incompetence of faking files & documents & arranging the secret theft of much of my mum’s money grew even more of a strain for Norman Howitt, Susan Begley and crooked lawyer Nigel Hall, because we now come to a letter typed by Nigel Hall, dated 20th February 1992, confirming that the payment of 15,000 had been made to Susan Begley (Mr & Mrs James Begley).

Letter from crooked lawyer Nigel Hall to crooked accountant Norman Howitt

So what he have here folks, is a rather complicated embezzlement of my mum’s money, by a crooked accountant, a crooked lawyer, and a long lost niece who was on the verge of bankruptcy …. and each of the players certainly seemed to enjoy their part to the hilt – they certainly profited from it extensively. Norman Howitt, of course, got off with not even a slap on the wrist from the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland, because as you can see from the investigation of my complaint against crooked Howitt’s activities, the Director of Legal Services for ICAS – Tom McMorrow, covered the whole thing up in his response to my complaint.

ICAS whitewash investigation of Norman Howitt page 1ICAS whitewash investigation of Norman Howitt page 2ICAS whitewash investigation of Norman Howitt page 3ICAS whitewash investigation of Norman Howitt page 4Heads of Complaint against Norman Howitt Page 1Heads of Complaint against Norman Howitt Page 2

Funnily enough, there is no mention in McMorrow’s investigation of Howitt’s stealing of my mum’s pension book, bank book & the secret trust .. as well as a few other things, but Tom McMorrow is well used to covering up for crooked accountants, so that’s no surprise at all. If you think that’s bad … remember Norman Howitt also filed false reports with Lothian & Borders Police at Wilton Hill, Hawick to try and cover up the fact he had stolen my late father’s car and sold it to a friend … which I wrote about here : Complaining against a lawyer ? You should expect a knock from the Police .. and even worse was to come ….

When my mum died in tragic circumstances, through hospital negligence, Norman Howitt, Andrew Penman, and the Bosses at the Law Society of Scotland thought they had won the lottery.

My mums death - coverage in the Daily Record  June 2000

Norman Howitt was busy celebrating with crooked lawyer Andrew Penman that the death of my mum would take such a toll on me, betting that I would also die, and that would be the end of their problems. They were of course, wrong.

So, Norman James Howitt, Chartered Accountant, is still at large, according to my legal source from the Borders, ripping off clients again … and has worked his way into a Directorship of the well known Eildon Housing Association in the Borders, and is also a Board member of the Borders College in Galashiels . Norman Howitt is also an official with Scottish Building – where he can be contacted to recommend building companies for work.

You can all see why I don’t really care much for Norman Howitt, or these crooked lawyers such as Andrew Penman, Nigel Hall, and the rest. Howitt wanted me dead. He still does, because he hates me publicising this story on what he did and got away with. He lied to the Police, he lied to his own regulatory body, ICAS, he lied to clients, and he lied to everyone who asked him what he had done. He is definitely a dangerous person, a liar, and a thief, and be warned – he will do the same to anyone, as he did to my family, and preying on the elderly, as he did with my poor mum, came very easy to him.

This is all, sadly, just another example of how a fraudster can get away with fraud … as Norman Howitt certainly seems to done .. but its always good to put a face to a crook, as my old retired Policeman friend says …. and it’s good to publish what that crook did .. just incase others fall to the same fate … and maybe, just maybe, it might work to get rid of the way in which crooked accountants fiddle complaints against other crooked accountants … as happened here.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Norman Howitt, JRW Group – Images of fraud reveal corruption & deceit by lawyers & accountants in the Scottish Borders

  1. petercherbi

    November 30, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    In response to emails and comments on this story, the “Mrs Susan Begley” which appears on the letter addressed as “Crailing”, who demanded & received large sums of money from my mother through involvement with Norman Howitt, is the same “Mrs Susan Begley” who resides at Charlesfield, near St Boswells.

    A comment on this story sent in links to photographs identifying Mr & Mrs Begley, which are located here along with copies of the letters seeking to obtain all of my mother’s money for themselves :

    I can also confirm that no money was ever paid back to my mother by the Begleys or Norman Howitt and as soon as the Begleys were able to con my mother into handing over the money, they dumped her and never contacted her again after their disgusting con against a vulnerable old lady was discovered. Similarly Norman Howitt tried to cover up his involvement in trying to secure all my mother’s assets for his own control.

    For the avoidance of any doubt, I have received further information and documents on this case, which are yet to be published. Obviously Mr Nigel Hall, my mother’s lawyer at the time, wants to save his own skin, at the expense of Norman Howitt and Susan Begley and he sent me considerable detail on what had transpired. Those documents and more will be released in a further article on this matter, in the hope it will act as a warning to the elderly to beware of people who are really just out to con old folks, like my mother was conned.

    Make no mistake, I have had extensive comments on this story mailed to me, and how disgusted people are with what the Begleys did to my mother.

    I assume that is only natural, that people are disgusted by how an elderly woman was conned out of tens of thousands of pounds by people out for their own gain and motive, with what appeared to be a plan since April 1990 to take all of my mother’s money away for themselves. As for people being upset because they are visually identified over duping an old lady into parting with her money, then thats just too bad. If people don’t want to be identified for conning, then spreading a lot of lies to cover up their con, then the best thing to do is not to con someone in the first place – particularly not to prey on the elderly for money then cast them aside as soon as they get it.

    If there are any threats, intimidation, or anything from the identified people and their friends, who did this to my mum, I will let the tabloids tackle the story, and the Police – and there will be much wider coverage of those involved, many questions to ask and answer, including all of the past, and what happened to Susan’s own mother, if that is what people want. I am certainly up for it, and will be handing these documents and more to the newspapers at my discretion.

     
  2. lb4117

    December 15, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    I remember how I was promised the earth in an Amway scheme at a meet arranged by Mrs Begley at Easter Wooden, Kelso.Like many others we never made a penny (actually lost a lot of money)

    I remember your mum very well.A hard worker in your dads shop in Jedburgh.Im sure she didnt slave her guts out to be robbed by Mr Howitt and Mrs Begley in this way and am very sorry to hear all the circumstances of what happened.Instead of Howitt setting the Police on you they should have arrested him and your Begley for what they did to you and your mother.

    My own mother says she remembers May Young very well.A poor tormented soul left alone in Queen Mary’s buildings after her wee son died.No wonder she killed herself after what happened.I wonder what she would have thought of her daughter now.

    If you ever want a witness to what was going on (I know a lot) I would be only too happy to help.

     
  3. petercherbi

    December 16, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    #lb4117

    Thanks for your offer.

    I’ve had a few emails about this story, indicating what happened to my mum isn’t an isolated incident.

    I am sure people need to be alerted to the dangers of such financial deceptions, and I am grateful for the further release of documents from a solicitor which will be published in due course to show how people prey on relatives for money.

     
  4. jamesboothy

    December 18, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    Quite disgusting the whole episode and I know for a fact there are many here in the Borders speaking about this now.Mr Howitt & Mrs Begley should be arrested for what they did and how they got hold of your mothers money.
    Which idiot at the Benefits Agency gave a pension book to an accountant ? Were they paid off or did they do that willingly ? It sounds like theft and I can’t imagine that anyone should have someone elses pension book except the person entitled to the pension.
    The Bank Book.Terrible.Your mother was being leeched on plain and simple.The 15 thou and those letters look like someone stuck a gun to her head to sign ?This Trust Deed thing too is a real rip off.Just disgusting the whole thing but you are lucky you got hold of these papers to show it.Expose the lot and do your best to spread it Mr Cherbi.

     
  5. petercherbi

    December 19, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    #jamesboothy

    These are all issues which remain to be answered, as you will see the careful investigation by Dr Tom McMorrow into Norman Howitt left all of that out, especially the part about Mr Howitt taking my mum’s pension book for himself …

    As my mum didn’t actually have a typewriter, and we still don’t know where the typed and altered letter of 1990 was signed (although suspicions must fall on its origin of Mrs Begley’s house at the time in Crailing or even Norman Howitt’s office), it is of significant concern that my mum obviously wasn’t even allowed to ask a witness to be present to co sign the document, consult her lawyer with an accompanying letter at the time .. or even tell anyone about it – so your ‘gun to my mum’s head’ theory could even be the case.

    I think the dates of the letters are fairly significant – Mrs Begley had attempted to grab all of my mum’s money, not just the 15k & more, from 1990 onwards, then there is a significant gap until 1992 when the money starts to flow in Mrs Begley’s direction and this is of course what led to the discovery of what was going on.

    My mum’s health during that time got progressively worse, she lost a lot of weight and became very nervous, until she told us the whole story just after she was in her own words ‘forced to hand over the money’.

    I hope people take note of what happened here, and that some elderly readers may learn from my mum’s shocking experience at the hands of a very greedy accountant and a dominating relative who it is plain to see from the letters & evidence, was solely out for money and nothing else.

    Mrs Begley of course dumped my mum as soon as she got her 15k and the Northern Rock account was closed (which was also being bled significantly). No money was ever paid back, and it wasn’t until after my mum’s death that her lawyer decided to do the right thing and release the documents.

    Its terrible how people prey on the elderly and what lies they spread to cover it up. Readers can find a good example of that here : http://news.scotsman.com/ViewArticle.aspx?articleid=2804859

    I certainly do hope that people are speaking about this, and that anyone who does such a thing is publicly identified for the hurtful scam they made against a vulnerable person.

     
  6. jamesboothy

    December 29, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    At the end of the day she was your mum Mr Cherbi and not Mrs Begleys.I think anyone with an ounce of common sense can see from your papers your mother was harangued into parting with her money to the Begleys from the very start.As i said the whole thing is disgusting and those involved should be in jail in my view.This Mr Howitt and Mrs Begley obviously teamed up to take all your mothers money from the very start.I asked a friend of mine who says he remembers your family about this and I see your dad died just a few weeks before that 1990 letter demanding all the money be sent to the Barclays at Kelso.So they wanted to get all your mums money and keep it for themselves.All very obvious and as I say good you have those documents.
    Good luck and hope you get all this sorted out or at least stop it from happening to someone else

     
  7. petercherbi

    January 23, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    #jamesboothy

    Yes, you are correct.

    Norman Howitt & Susan Begley stepped in the minute my dad was dead in order to gain control of my mum’s money.

    I think suffice to say the following story, passed to me by a journalist who is now looking into the case of my mum, is a fairly good example of what Mr Howitt and Mrs Begley had planned for my mother’s money … actually the details of the following case reported in the Telegraph newspaper bear a remarkable similarity to my mum’s case – down to the power of attorney too …

    Oh, just to let those who emailed me about the documents in this article know – there are many more, and now I have offers of hosting I’m sure the documents will be up on the internet for a long time yet. After all, what they show is an accountant, a relative and a lawyer out to take all an old woman’s money for themselves – as simple as that.

    As you say jamesboothy, my mum was my mum – no one elses, so people should perhaps ask themselves a question ” would I let this happen to my mum ?” – as soon as they found out about it, I would imagine just like me – the answer would be “Probably Not !”

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2008/01/03/nwidow103.xml

    Detective ‘helped himself to widow’s assets’

    Last Updated: 11:56pm GMT 02/01/2008

    A police detective who befriended an elderly widow bought her home at a reduced price and plundered her assets, a court has heard.

    Detective Chief Inspector Peter Salkeld, of Sussex Police, was granted power of attorney over Eileen Savage’s finances. He bought her house, which was worth £105,000, in May 1997 for £55,000.

    The house was sold two years later for £157,200, Maidstone Crown Court heard. David Walbank, prosecuting, said the Crown was not suggesting that Mrs Savage, now aged 93 and living in a care home in Hove, East Sussex, was mentally incapable at the time.

    He told the jury: “She may not have understood the extent to which the price he paid represented an undervalue.

    “What is clear, however, is that she was at that time deceived as to the defendant’s true intentions in relation to her and her finances.

    “If she had known that within a few years she would be penniless and all but abandoned, it is inconceivable that she would have transferred her home in that way.”

    Mr Walbank said that Salkeld stripped Mrs Savage’s assets between May 1997 when he was handed power of attorney over her assets at the Portman Building Society and January 2001.

    Mr Walbank added: “By January 2001, her capital assets had been largely depleted.

    “She no longer owned a property. The credit balance left in her Portman Building Society account had been transferred to her HSBC account.

    “And the HSBC account had a small cash reserve of just over £11,000. But the defendant did not stop there.”

    Salkeld is alleged to have used Mrs Savage’s HSBC bank card and PIN to make five cash withdrawals in March and April 2001 totalling £600.

    The withdrawals continued right up until Salkeld’s arrest in January 2006, the last being seven days before his arrest, Mr Walbank said.

    It was also alleged that in August 2001 Salkeld duped Brighton and Hove City Council into paying Mrs Savage’s care costs by claiming that she had not owned a property for the last 15 years, despite having sold it himself.

    “He acted for his own selfish reasons, trying to avoid Mrs Savage’s capital assets from being depleted in paying for her care, but instead remained available for him to plunder.”

    The court also heard that Salkeld allegedly used the police force’s company credit card to buy goods for his own use. He is also accused of deceiving his employer by claiming a grant from the Sussex Police Welfare Fund for £1,100 to buy caravanning equipment.

    Salkeld, of Shoreham, West Sussex, denies 19 charges of theft, obtaining property by deception and obtaining a money transfer by deception between May 1997 and September 2005.

    The case continues.

    Remarkably common as I say – here’s another article from the Daily Record this time … details very similar yet again ….

    http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/tm_headline=flyaway-priest-and-widow-s–pound-1-million&method=full&objectid=18521281&siteid=66633-name_page.html

    FLYAWAY PRIEST AND WIDOW’S £1 MILLION

    Jan 24 2007 Exclusive by Karen Bale

    Catherine, 85, lets him control her fortune

    A FRAIL widow with dementia signed over control of her £1million fortune to her priest.

    Catherine MacNeil, 85, gave a £120,000 house to Father Mustaq Azad, and he took control of the affairs of her disabled son.

    Fr Azad flew to his native Pakistan after police were called in to investigate the affair. His superiors in the Catholic Church had told him repeatedly to give up his involvement in Catherine’s finances.

    Catherine’s angry niece, Morag O’Halloran, 45, of Irvine, Ayrshire, said last night: “This has been an absolute disgrace. A priest is in a position of trust.

    “Anybody knows an 85-year-old with dementia is not in the frame of mind to make huge decisions, like handing over her home and rights to a man she hardly knows.

    “My aunt signed her life over to him. And until the authorities got involved, he had control of her finances, around £1million.”

    Catherine, of Campbeltown, Argyll, was a regular worshipper at Fr Azad’s church, St Kieran’s, in the town.

    She spent much of her spare time there, helping at bake sales and organising events.

    Catherine met Fr Azad three years ago, when he took over the parish after arriving in Scotland as a missionary from Pakistan.

    The pair became friends and he began to visit her frequently at home.

    Catherine had a massive stroke in February 2004 and dementia set in soon after.

    Morag said: “It was tragic. She has never been the same.

    “She had always been fiercely independent. She had been a district nurse and she dedicated her life to looking after her son.”

    Social services began helping to look after Catherine and her son Ian, 49, who has a rare genetic disorder which causes learning difficulties.

    Then, in March 2005, Catherine gave Fr Azad power of attorney to handle her financial affairs. Seven months later, the priest took on the same responsibility for Ian.

    Fr Azad did not tell Morag about his role in her aunt and cousin’s lives.

    Catherine gifted the priest her second home, a £120,000 cottage on the Hebridean island of Barra. And six weeks later, according to Morag, he put the house up for sale.

    Morag said: “It has remained on the market for more than a year because the people of Barra are aware of the situation. Nobody wants to hand over cash for the house.”

    Catherine is now back in hospital after suffering a second stroke. And Morag claimed that Ian, who needs constant care, was left to “fend for himself” as his mum’s condition worsened.

    She said: “We discovered he’d been left without his medication for 10 days and had been cooking himself fish fingers every night in the deep fat fryer.

    “He was terribly frightened and in an awful state. He phoned and told me his house was going to be taken away and that he would be homeless.

    “Then we found a letter from the council saying Ian was on a list for housing.

    “Catherine has enough savings for her and Ian to live comfortably for the rest of their lives. There’s no mortgage on the house in Campbeltown and no reason for Ian to be given council housing.

    “We’ve now taken Ian to live with us. We will fight tooth and nail to protect him and his interests.”

    In October 2006, social workers told Catherine’s family she needed to be moved to a nursing home.

    Morag wanted to place her in a home in Saltcoats, a few miles from Irvine, so she and Ian could visit her.

    But as she tried to make the arrangements, she found out that Fr Azad had power of attorney.

    Morag said: “We were absolutely shocked. Fr Azad never mentioned it. He had kept us in the dark. We couldn’t believe my aunt would have given him control of her life. She hardly really knew him.

    “We spoke to Ian, who said he had found cheque books that belonged to his mum with Fr Azad’s name on.

    “He had been suspicious and hidden them, although he was too frightened to say anything.”

    Fr Azad refused Morag’s request to move Catherine to Saltcoats.

    He also failed to hand over the old lady’s financial records and legal documents to social services. In a bid to force the priest to co-operate, social workers called in police.

    A police investigation began. And at a meeting on December 29, Fr Azad offered to resign his power of attorney over Catherine’s affairs.

    The Bishop of Argyll, Ian Murray, also intervened, demanding that Fr Azad hand over responsibility to Catherine’s family.

    Fr Azad was traced in Pakistan, where he is on leave, on Monday of this week. He agreed to hand over his power of attorney for Catherine, and Mora g immediately began moves to have the old lady placed in Saltcoats.

    Morag said: “It is unbelievable that social services were forced to call the police to make a priest help an old woman.

    “It is beyond belief. Who knows what he was thinking? She is a very wealthy woman and he knows it.”

    She added: “Catherine will be given 24-hour care and is in safe hands. In the hospital she has fallen so many times and doesn’t have the care she needs. They don’t have the staff and they need the bed back.

    “We are delighted Catherine will now be in a home where she can see Ian every day. She was pining for him.”

    Catherine’s family now plan to force the priest to hand over his power of attorney for Ian.

    Morag said: “Ian has a lawyer to fight his case for him.”

    A spokesman for the Catholic Church said last night: “We do not condone Fr Azad’s actions. He was told repeatedly that he should give up and hand over the power of attorney.”

    A church source added: “Fr Azad was advised from the start not to accept the power of attorney or ownership of the house.

    “He was told repeatedly to hand the post back. The Bishop last told him at the beginning of January and expected it to be done immediately.

    “It’s a very remote parish and nobody was aware of everything that was going on.”

    Robert Hynd, a lawyer acting for Catherine’s relatives, said: “We have finally received documents from Fr Azad and he has agreed to hand over the power of attorney to Catherine’s family and allow her to be moved to a nursing home.”

    James McEwan, of the law firm representing Fr Azad, said: “Mrs MacNeil gave the house in Barra to him as a gift. I know she took financial advice.

    “She asked Fr Azad to take on power of attorney in case he required assistance to speak on her behalf. He has now handed back power of attorney.”

    Police said: “Inquiries were carried out but this is not a criminal matter.” Argyll and Bute Council refused to comment.

    ‘This has been an absolute disgrace. A priest is in a position of trust. My aunt signed her life over’

     
  8. julie92

    January 28, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    That is a terrible story about your poor mum Peter.I think they were jealous you had a mum so they tried to take her away from you for her money

    I bet none of those people who took her money were there fighting for your mums life in that hospital when she died !

    Get it in the papers what they did and how they took your mums money and stuff !

    bestest !!

    Julie

     
  9. petercherbi

    February 11, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    # Julie92

    Yes, although its a terrible story that I’m sure is common enough when people prey on the weak and ill.

    You are correct – Howitt, the Begleys and Nigel Hall quickly dumped my mother as soon as their scheme to take her money was discovered – they left my mum in a state of fear & despair after what they did and I don’t think there are words to describe it really.

    What Howitt, the Begleys and Nigel Hall did, was for money and money alone. If my mum had nothing they wouldn’t have given her the time of day, but because she had money, they wanted it for themselves and that’s what the documents in my article clearly show. Money – and how they could con my mum into giving away all her money and even signing over her life to them. Despicable.

    Wouldn’t be surprised if they have done or are doing the same to others – as it all seems very well practised.

    Note :

    These genuine documents and many more were handed to me by my mum’s ex-lawyer, Nigel Hall of Haddon & Turnbull solicitors, Hawick, who was clearly disgusted after realising the extent of the con and ‘money grab’ perpetuated against my mother by the people identified in the documents.

    The solicitor’s intention of handing them to me was for full disclosure and circulation, to try and ensure that the horrible and deceitful fraud which drove my mother to despair and ill health at the time, does not happen to others.

    Sadly the lawyer chose to wait until my mother was dead before handing over these documents, after the Law Society of Scotland intervened to ensure their disclosure, but their release should serve as a warning to all of the dangers of long lost relatives suddenly appearing when there is mention of money, and to steer clear of notorious accountants such as Mr Howitt, with poor service histories who associate themselves with those same long lost relatives, and offer to take control of an elderly persons funds and life, even confiscating pension and benefit books.

    These documents have been seen by many in official circles and widely condemned for the disgraceful and disgusting victimisation of an elderly lady just so those identified in the documents could take all the money for themselves. This is how people prey on others to get money, and will stop at nothing to get their way as the level of detail in the documents show clearly.

     

Leave a Reply

 
